Whenever you create a new group on Facebook, you need to decide if your group should be Closed, Public, or Secret.
Pick CLOSED every time!
If a group is public it means all the posts in the group are public. Anyone can navigate to that group and see what every member said. More importantly, it means a member's post MAY show up in their newsfeed. Depending on the topic of your group, your members may not feel safe posting.
For instance in a breastfeeding support group a new mom may not want ALL of her FB friends to know she is having a hard time with Postpartum Depression. She may just want the support of her fellow BFing moms. If your group is public she probably wouldn't bother posting.
If you want people to be able to find and join your group via a search then DO NOT pick Secret. Secret groups are 100% secret which means admins and members can add more members. No one will be able to find it.
Closed groups are the happy in between. They will come up in a search BUT only members will be able to see what has been posted.
Laura Occhipinti is on a mission to point people to websites, apps, and products that they MUST know about!